• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

NFO Selection: Very discouraged..

Hello aviators!

My question for all of you is this: I'm prior-service Navy, of the aviation community (AM), currently one year post EAS with a year left before my bachelor's degree is complete. When I left the service, it was a dream of mine to one day return as a NFO. What I'm running into now is a lot of discouraging gouge with regards to my chances of selection through OCS.

I'm currently majoring in history with a 4.0 GPA, tons of extra-curriculars, and a job as an editor with the college press. I excelled during my enlisted years, always earning MP/EP evals, NAMs, etc. I took flying lessons in my off time and racked up 40 hours. I'm 23 and have 3 years left on my IRR contract, so I thought I might have a reasonable chance of picking up a slot, but after asking this question on Yahoo! I got some pretty nasty replies.

An individual who claims to be in the business of officer accessions told me my major was a huge negative (even with a 4.0 GPA, because "they only want STEM majors"), the fact that I'm prior service was another neg. (who wants disgusting, putrid former E's stinking up the O corps), the flight lessons were also a neg. and I needed "more leadership exp." (Never mind being a former NCO, completing a B.S. in 2.5 years, and being a member of 4 clubs and organizations while working part time). He basically told me to kick rocks and GFYS.

Is this guy being unreasonable, or do I still have a shot? I'm going to apply either way, but I would feel a lot better about the whole thing if I knew the real deal.

wink

War Hoover NFO.
None
Super Moderator
Contributor