• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Serious advice needed

zaleskb1

I am 32 years old. Unmarried, no kids. I have BA in political science, an MA in intelligence studies and I am currently pursuing an MBA. I am a revenue agent, employed by state since January 2006. I was acting President of 235 member local in AFSCME union from jan 2013, till i was elected President this past June.

So.....a very long story short I have been in the application process for dircom in Navy Reserve since Jan 2006. It hasn't been fun or easy so say the least. Lots of misplaced paperwork, multiple recruiters, you name it. I first tried Intel, but was persuaded not to based uponqualifications. Then cam Supply, where I I finally got an application together, only to face rejection by district, so it never went to Board (admitted to pot use in college).

It has been a dream/goal of mine for a long time now to become a Navy Officer. However, the underlying desire for such is that itch, that urge, someting, that I need to serve the Navy regardless. On that, and with the enduring officer aplication process, Enlistment has become a common thought of mine...too common....

Ive started to really debate some pros/cons, and Ive been told by numerous sources to go for it and also to not go for it. It became a common thought when I saw the beaurocratic bull my boss goes through, plus all the ridiculous bull Ive seen working as a union President. That led me to have thoughts of facing/dealing with such as a Navy Officer, thus thinking enlistment route has that better of a pro to really consider it.