• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

ASTB-E/APEX 4 Experience -DEC 2013

sharkbait1

pilot
So as promised, I'll write about my ASTB experience. Scored 52 6/7/6. I have no real flight experience so to speak, with the exception of some basic lessons, so a good portion of my studying was reading the FAA Airplane Flying Handbook and the Pilot's Handbook of Aeronautical Knowledge. Between these two, I felt that the majority of the required aerodynamics and aviation information was covered. I do have a strong personal interest in naval/aircraft history, so I was not too concerned with this part. As for everything else...

Math:
I'd say my best resource was Schaum's Outline for College Algebra (3rd edition). I felt that I got the best problem solving with this one, and it has many problems solved for you. It won't teach you math, but as long as you have a good understanding of the basics it will be a great review and exercise tool. Most of my issues are typical - keeping signs straight and the like. My questions were mostly algebraic word problems, in addition to some simple geometry and basic linear equation types. Be comfortable with fractional exponents; I had no logs or matricies. Like many others I used several other study guides - Accepted, Barrons, Arco, but none really seem to capture the word problems. Just when I thought I had a handle, they figured out a new twist...Overall, I felt like I could have studied much less and performed similarly - I may retake, but unsure just yet. Still need to speak to the recruiter about it (he was not present when I took the exam).

Reading: