• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

My school doesn't offer Navy.

RC-8015

First, a little context: I'm a recent High School graduate who was strongly interested in both USNA and NROTC. I received a nomination from my congressman (the recently-ousted Majority Leader, for context on competitiveness), and a spot at both Summer Seminar and CVW, both of which I really enjoyed. I was crushed, naturally, to learn that I received neither an appointment nor a scholarship, or even acceptance to any NROTC school.

The reasons are entirely my own: Despite a 2270 SAT, I had a pitiful GPA, resulting from a tendency to learn whatever interested me instead of what I was assigned. So, while I know a great deal about Nuclear Reactors and Iraqi politics, and speak passable German and French, I nearly failed AP Chemistry and Spanish. It was, in short, a dearth of maturity, one for which I hope to have made up by now. Regardless, I was fortunate enough to be accepted to a reasonably well-regarded large Liberal Arts school, despite my less-than-stellar academic record.

I'm an incoming Freshman at JMU, which lacks the two things the Navy would most want for a NROTC MIDN: a real Engineering program and a NROTC program. It does offer two close substitutes: an ABET-accredited General Engineering degree and both Army and Air Force programs. As such, I intend to attempt to transfer somewhere with a NROTC program, but in the meantime, I had a few questions that I figured some of y'all would be able to answer:

1) I understand that a student enrolled in the College Program, or otherwise affiliated with NROTC, is unable to apply for a 3- or 2- year Navy scholarship. Is a student enrolled (but not contracted) in AFROTC or AROTC similarly restricted?